free hit counter

Djokovic the Wimbledon Winner, won 13th Grand Slam Title

Eventually Serbian star Novak Djokovic managed to capture the Grand Slam title after two years. On Sunday, 31-year-old Djokovic demolished the challenge of South Africa’s World Number-8 Kevin Anderson in the Wimbledon final.

Djokovic, seeded 12th, defeated 32-year-old Anderson in straight sets by 6-2, 6-2, 7-6 (7-3) in 2 hours and 18 minutes. With this, Djokovic captured the 13th Grand, while it is his fourth Wimbledon title. He last won the French Open in 2016.

Novak Djokovic defeated Rafael Nadal 6-4, 3-6, 7-6, 3-6, 10-8 in the second-long semifinal match of Wimbledon to enter the finals for the fifth time.

Djokovic and Nadal fought for 5 hours and 15 minutes. Earlier, the first semi-final between Anderson and John Isner lasted 6 hours and 36 minutes. It was the longest semi-final of the tournament and the second longest single in the Grand Slam match.

Djokovic beat Anderson for the sixth time, while he was defeated only once by the African player. This was Anderson’s second Grand Slam final. Earlier, he had played the final of the US Open last year, though he lost both of them in the final.

Novak Djokovic’s singles Grand Slam title-

1. Australian Open – 6 (2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016)

2. French Open-1 (2016)

3. Wimbledon-4 (2011, 2014, 2015, 2018)

4. US Open -2 (2011, 2015)

Djokovic has now moved to fourth place in the list of the most Grand Slam singles titles to win. His name has now come after Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Pete Sampras.

Most Singles Grand Slam Titles (All Time)

1. Roger Federer (Switzerland): 20

2. Rafael Nadal (Spain): 17

3. Pete Sampras (America) 14

4. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) 13

5. Roy Emerson (Australia) 12

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: